Posted on

I Leave My Heart In San Francisco as I Head Off To The Big Apple

Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms out there. I’m getting a head start on today’s post since I’m heading off to New York City on the red-eye flight tonight. My employer needs me in NYC for a series of meetings all week-long, but I will have a little “off” time to get to walk around a bit, so my camera is coming with me!! The weather report has been all over the place in the 10-day forecast these last few days. The current forecast shows showers for Monday through Thursday, which happens to coincide with the time I have to sightsee a bit. Hopefully, the showers will be on and off and I can get a photo opp with the Big Apple. I’ll be staying in midtown Manhattan, so I hope to be able to hit Grand Central Station and the Empire State Building at the very least. I’ll keep my fingers crossed…

In preparation for the trip, I decided to run over to one of my favorite camera equipment rental places to see what they had in stock. Nada!! Zilch!! All out!!! At least they still had a few wide-angle options, but I much would have prefered something in the 24-105mm range. This would be the closest thing to a “walk-around” lens as you would want to find for weight and size on any DSLR. They did have the Canon 28-300mm L zoom lens, but that thing is a monster in weight and size. With such a wide range, it’s a favorite with the travelers that expect to be faced with just about everything (wide and telezoom opportunities) without the desire to chug around with a few lenses to cover those needs. Can this lens do everything well? Nope, but it gets the job done in a very efficient way considering that it’s a compromise lens. Unfortunately, it would have cost be about $150 to rent it for the week when I wouldn’t expect to have THAT much time on my hands, so I passed on it.

They did have a Tokina ATX-PRO 16-28mm f/2.8 wide angle lens that sat well on my body, so I decided to take it with me for the week at almost the third of the cost that the 28-300mm would have run me. I’m excited to see what it could do, since I am a big fan of the Tokina lenses. Everyone already knows how much I love my 100-300 f/4.0, so I’m hoping that I fall in love with the 16-28mm f/2.8 and have to have that one next. I should be able to get quite a few very well composed architecture shots while in NYC.

For Mother’s Day, the ritual of the last few years has been to go over to my in-laws for brunch and my wife makes a stupendous bill of fare. This year was no exception, but I decided to bring the camera along and test out the lens with the poor indoor lighting conditions. There was a strawberry, basil and goat cheese bruschetta,raspberry breakfast bars, cinnamon donut muffins and biscuit bubbles with egg, bacon, hash browns and cheddar cheese. It was delicious as usual.

By no means am I a food photographer, and to be honest, this was the first time I have ever photographed food. Some of them turned out ok, but it appeared that I would have less post processing to do when I was inspecting my images on the LCD on the back of the camera body. Once downloaded, there was a lot more to do. Obviously, this was more due to the poor lighting in the dining room area at my in-laws than the lens’ capabilities. So, I am looking forward to see what this lens can do out in the out with good light and hope to have a good set of images to share with everyone once I return on Friday.

One response to “I Leave My Heart In San Francisco as I Head Off To The Big Apple

  1. Daniel ⋅

    Okay… was hungry before. Now I’m really feeling starved after seeing these.

Leave a Reply

