Posted on

Drive to Little League: $4, Bag of Bubble Gum: $3, End of Season Party: $25, Having Your Memory Card Crap Out On You: PRICELESS!!!

The Pacifica NLL Rockies had their last official game of the season today against the Tigers. After mounting a late game rally, the Tigers put up a fight and almost tied the game in the top of the 6th. Fortunately, the Rockies were able to keep the lead and secure the win. Both teams played their asses off, and although someone had to come away with the L, the opposing team should be proud of their efforts today.

The head coach of the opposing team was an assistant coach for a team my son was on two years ago, and I have great respect for the man. Besides being a great coach, he put up with my kid in what was probably the worst season filled with fits and tantrums on the field. Throughout all that, the coach remained steadfast in his instruction even though he probably would have wanted to whack my kid on the head. At that time, I would have gladly held him down while he did it too!!!

Fast forward two years, and he’s now the head coach of one of the other Pacifica National Little League teams. I don’t believe that his team has had much success this year, but his team staying in today’s game is proof enough that there is good baseball being played on his club!! I approached him before the game and asked if he was ok with my tucking myself off to one of the sidelines in order to photograph the game up close. He agreed, and so did our head coach. SCORE!!! Someone is always too worried about getting sued nowadays, so I rarely get the opportunity to be on the field on the game side of the fence.

Although I’ve discussed techniques for shooting through a chain link fence and adjusting the image in post processing to regain the clarity lost through the fence, there is nothing like not having to worry about any of that crap cause you have a direct line of sight to the action. Obviously, my new concern with being on the field is a line drive with my name on it whacking me across the head, or worse, right into my lens!! Luckily, I had my wits about me today and the kids really didn’t feel like tagging me with a foul. Thanks, guys!!

Although I would expect to have a great number of really great images when I got home today, there always has to be something going on to screw me up. It’s Murphy’s Law, I tell you. Halfway through the game, I started to get an error message on my camera and the images being recorded weren’t popping up on the LCD on the back, as they usually do once they’ve recorded. In between innings, I managed to Google the error code to find that it was a memory card error. I recently had to replace my main memory card with a real expensive SanDisk one, cause my previous one had just crapped out. That was earlier this week, so you can imagine that I immediately got pissed.

First, I’m thinking that I purchased a faulty memory card. But, that usually wouldn’t be the case since probability has it that I wouldn’t be able to pick out the one in several million that actually do come defective from the factory. So, I then start thinking that it’s the camera. Then I start panicking, cause I haven’t had this camera body for long and I had almost convinced myself that it was already crapping out. I put it out of my head hoping that the backup memory card would capture what I was photographing.

Once you get to this level of Canon camera’s, the body offers you two memory card options, a CF card and an SD card. The CF card can hold up to 32 GB, which is HUGE!!! The SD card can usually hold up to 16GB, but it depends on what your budget will let you afford. The camera also offers you different formats in which to record the images. For professional level results, the way to go with images is to record them in RAW format. This is the unprocessed image that the camera sensor records without having the camera apply any type of processing. This file can then be opened up in a number of post processing photo editors for a greater ability to manipulate the image. Most point and shoot cameras only take JPEG images, which are images taken by the camera sensor and then put through the factory post processing and appears on the LCD screen as the captured image. My Canon allows me to take two images at once and will separate them between the two memory cards. So, the CF card records the RAW image that I’m taking while the SD card records the JPEG image that also show up on my LCD screen. With this backup system, I was sure that I’d get one or the other, if not both.

So, I had to deal with the camera stopping on me every time that I took a series of high-speed shots to display the error message. I figured that if I depressed the shutter button, it would bump the error message off the menu screen and go back to allowing me to photograph. Well, it appears that the CF card did not record any of the images after I started to get the error message. Fortunately, the SD card did capture the remaining images. The down side is that it only captured the first photo in each series that I took and not the entire lot. So, if in a pitching sequence, I shot a total of 8 images, I was only able to capture the first and the rest were never recorded. I was completely bummed…

I still managed to get a good number of good images, but I would have rather come home with many more. What’s the lesson to be learned here? Don’t rely on just one memory card, folks. So, what am I going to do to make sure that I don’t have this happen again? As soon as I can afford another CF memory card, I’ll purchase another one to keep in my camera bag. If this ever happens again, I’ll quickly swap out the cards and keep shooting.

I was able to locate on several other photo blogs that others have had this same problem. Most of them mentioned that this might be caused by formatting the memory card using the PC instead of the on-camera formatting allowed. It just so happens that last night I chose to format the memory card with my PC instead of the camera, so I’m hoping that this was the case. Tomorrow, I’ll be doing some experimenting to make sure that this was the case. If the problem persists, I may have to take the camera in to the shop for evaluation and that’s never cheap…

Anyway, I hope you enjoy the images. Since there are quite a number of them, I will try putting them on here as a slide show. If I find that this format doesn’t work, I’ll edit the entry and include the separate images in a gallery. Good night, all!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

19 responses to “Drive to Little League: $4, Bag of Bubble Gum: $3, End of Season Party: $25, Having Your Memory Card Crap Out On You: PRICELESS!!!

  1. I have been reading out a few of your articles and it’s clever stuff. I will definitely bookmark your site.

  2. I actually wanted to develop a comment so as to say thanks to you for some of the wonderful steps you are placing on this website. My particularly long internet investigation has now been compensated with awesome details to exchange with my neighbours. I would mention that we website visitors actually are unquestionably endowed to be in a fabulous community with very many marvellous people with useful tips and hints. I feel somewhat fortunate to have come across your entire site and look forward to so many more enjoyable moments reading here. Thank you once more for a lot of things.

  3. Very well written article. It will be helpful to anyone who employess it, as well as myself. Keep up the good work – for sure i will check out more posts.

  4. As a Newbie, I am permanently browsing online for articles that can benefit me. Thank you

  5. My brother suggested I might like this web site. He was entirely right. This post actually made my day. You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  6. As a Newbie, I am constantly exploring online for articles that can benefit me. Thank you

  7. Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and aid others like you helped me.

  8. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with some pics to drive the message home a little bit, but other than that, this is fantastic blog. An excellent read. I will certainly be back.

  9. Rick Abad

    Wonderful beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your site, how can i subscribe for a blog site? The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear idea

  10. Lovely blog! I am loving it!! Will be back later to read some more. I am bookmarking your feeds also

  11. Thanks so much for giving everyone an extraordinarily terrific possiblity to read in detail from this site. It really is very pleasing and also jam-packed with amusement for me and my office acquaintances to search your web site nearly 3 times a week to see the fresh things you have. Of course, I’m so usually fascinated considering the mind-boggling principles you give. Selected 1 tips in this post are in truth the most beneficial I have had.

  12. You made some decent points there. I looked on the internet for the subject matter and found most guys will consent with your blog.

  13. I was recommended this blog by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my trouble. You’re wonderful! Thanks!

  14. I have been checking out a few of your posts and it’s pretty clever stuff. I will make sure to bookmark your blog.

  15. There is perceptibly a bunch to identify about this. I think you made some nice points in features also.

  16. I needed to draft you the bit of note to be able to thank you so much once again relating to the unique tricks you’ve shared in this article. It has been tremendously generous with you to present freely what many people could possibly have offered as an e book to end up making some dough on their own, particularly considering that you could have done it in the event you desired. These pointers as well acted like the good way to be aware that the rest have a similar interest just like my own to realize a lot more with respect to this issue. I think there are many more pleasant occasions up front for those who examine your site.

  17. You made some good points there. I did a search on the subject matter and found most guys will approve with your blog.

  18. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually something that I think I would never understand. It seems too complicated and very broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

Leave a Reply

