Posted on

1 year, 10 months and 11 days later…

I’M BACK FOLKS!!!

A lot has happened in the last 680 days, and with enough posts, I’ll get to go over the highlights on all the new stuff. If I had to rate all the new stuff and put something at the very top of the list it would be FILM. Yes, film…

In this digital age, why in the world would I take up film? There are too many reasons why every photographer that started in the digital age should try film and learn from it. For me it represents the following:

  • Film makes you slow down and really think about what you are shooting, why you are shooting it and how you are shooting it.
  • Film doesn’t give you the instant gratification that digital does, so you get the added plus of reliving the excitement once you get your film developed. This is, of course, assuming that you like your results and not absolutely hate them.
  • Film gives you the opportunity to be hands on with the developing of your film regardless if it is 35mm, medium format or larger and regardless if it is b&w, color negative or positive film.
  • Film gives you the opportunity to match and exceed the quality currently available with digital cameras when properly scanned with a reputable scanner. Anyone up for 70MB 35mm files??
  • Film gives you the opportunity to record an analogue image that will be able to be converted to digital many times over in the 100+ years that the image will be preserved giving you plenty of opportunity to make the image bigger and better as scanner technology continues to develop. With digital, sadly, you are limited to the technology available in the camera you used to record the image with and whatever limitations that camera may have had.
  • Film cameras are damn cheap and plentiful!!
  • Film gives you instant street cred.
  • Pick up a film camera at the local Goodwill, a patterned fedora at the Target nearest you and you too can be a hipster!!
  • Chicks love film, therefore, they will automatically all love you…

Ok, so the last few are just for shits and giggles, but there are many other advantages to shooting film that I’m skipping over as I try to crank out this first post in over 16,320 hours since my last post.

Does this mean I’ve abandoned digital? Hell no!!! There are plenty of instances that digital would still take precedence with me and I don’t even get paid to make images. But what I can tell you without a shadow of a doubt is that shooting film has made my photography better all around and this gets translated to my digital work as well.

When you get to the point that you understand composition, timing, exposure and all the other aspects that go into making a valuable image happen, the medium that you choose to record the image in is irrelevant. Am I there? I wish…but I’m working on it every day.

All I know is that when I get ready to head out, I decide whether to grab digital or film and almost always reach for my film cameras. Even with that decision made, then there’s the decision of b&w, color negative, positive slide and which brand do I want to shoot with. All things fun!!!

What I can tell you for sure is that I’m back in to continue the ride and share my experiences. I plan to continue offering my opinion on gear as I come across it (digital and film), but promise to get off the lengthy posts.

Keep it simple and share a bunch of images!!!

Good to be back, everyone…

Leave a Reply

